Storm Whale

Storm Whale short film trilogy washes up at Lupus

The planned three-pack has The Tiger Who Came to Tea writer Robin Shaw attached as a writer.
June 17, 2022

At Annecy this week, London-based Lupus Films unveiled a trilogy of 30-minute short films it has in development based on the prize-winning Storm Whale book series.

The Storm Whale, The Storm Whale in Winter and Grandma Bird center around a young boy named Noi struggling to connect with his father, a single parent who works as a fisherman. Noi finds a baby whale washed up on shore and decides to take care of it, while trying to keep his marine companion a secret from his dad.

The debut novel in the series written by Benji Davies was first released by publisher Simon & Schuster in 2013 and went on to win the inaugural Oscar’s Book Prize—an annual British award for excellence in kids literature.

Robin Shaw (The Tiger Who Came to Tea) is attached to the screen adaptation as a writer and director, with Ruth Fielding and Camilla Deakin producing at Lupus. All three short films will feature scores and sound design “inspired by the sea” under the direction of composer David Arnold (Tomorrow Never Dies).

It’s worth noting that Lupus is also developing two other book-based projects at the moment—Tales of Terror, based on kids novel Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror, and a holiday special adaptation of the Brambly Hedge book series.

About The Author



Brand Menu