Nickelodeon leads Kidscreen Awards 2019 noms

The nominees for the 10th-annual Kidscreen Awards, celebrating the best in children’s TV production, broadcasting and digital media, are led by Nickelodeon and Netflix.
December 12, 2018

Nickelodeon is the top nominee for this year’s Kidscreen Awards with 10 nods, followed by Netflix with six, and PBS KIDS and Sesame Workshop with five apiece. Every year, Kidscreen honors the best work in children’s television and digital media, and the 2019 Programming, Broadcasting and Digital category finalists will continue on to a final round of judging.

Winners will be announced at a special presentation event to be held during Kidscreen Summit in Miami on Tuesday, February 12. The host of this year’s ceremony is Craig Lauzon, a multiple Canadian Screen Award and Canadian Comedy Award nominee, as well as a cast member of CBC’s satirical sketch comedy show Royal Canadian Air Farce.

Here is the full list of nominees:


Best New Series
Becca’s Bunch (JAM Media)
Esme & Roy (Nelvana, Sesame Workshop)
True: Wonderful Wishes (Guru Studio, Friends With You, Homeplate Entertainment, i am OTHER)

Best Animated Series
Hey Duggee (Studio AKA)
The Stinky & Dirty Show (Amazon Studios, Brown Bag Films)
True: Wonderful Wishes (Guru Studio, Friends With You, Homeplate Entertainment, i am OTHER)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Becca’s Bunch (JAM Media)
Dino Dana (Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
Beat Bugs: All Together Now (Grace: A Storytelling Company, Beyond Screen Production, Thunderbird Productions/Netflix)
The Magical Wand Chase: A Sesame Street Special (Sesame Workshop)
Thomas & Friends: Big World! Big Adventures! The Movie (Mattel Creations)


Best New Series
Kitty is Not a Cat (Network 7, Jetpack Distribution)
The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle (DreamWorks Animation Television)
The Boss Baby: Back in Business (DreamWorks Animation Television)

Best Animated Series
Miraculous—Tales of Ladybug and Cat Noir (ZAG)
SpongeBob SquarePants (Nickelodeon Animation Studio)
The Boss Baby: Back in Business (DreamWorks Animation Television)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
MasterChef Junior (Endemol Shine North America, One Potato Two Potato)
Odd Squad (Fred Rogers Productions, Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Valentins (Gloob, Zola Filmes)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
Kids’ Choice Awards 2018 (Nickelodeon, ROK Productions, Dempsey Productions, GHS Productions)
Nickelodeon’s Ultimate Halloween Haunted House (Nickelodeon, STUN Creative, Alternative Plan Productions)
SpongeBob SquarePants “The Legend of Boo-Kini Bottom” (Nickelodeon Animation Studio, Screen Novelties)


Best New Series
Creeped Out (DHX Media, BBC Children’s Productions, CBBC, Family Channel)
The Bureau of Magical Things (Jonathan M. Shiff Productions)
The New Legends of Monkey (See-Saw Films/Netflix)

Best Animated Series
Dennis & Gnasher: Unleashed! (Beano Studios)
Mission Force One (Wild Canary Animation/Disney Junior)
The Dragon Prince (Wonderstorm, Bardel Entertainment, MWM/Netflix)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
A Series of Unfortunate Events (Netflix)
Anne with an E (Northwood Entertainment in association with CBC/Netflix)
ZombieLars (Tordenfilm, NRK Super)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
Bob’s Burgers “The Bleakening” (20th Century Fox, Bento Box Entertainment)
HALO Awards 2017 (Nickelodeon, N-Credible, ROK Productions)
Next Gen (Baozou, Tangent Animation/Netflix)

Shortlisted entries in the Programming categories will be reviewed and assessed by a fresh panel of judges, including Dominique Bazay (Netflix), Joe D’Ambrosia (Disney Junior), Henrietta Hurford-Jones (BBC Worldwide), Linda Simensky (PBS KIDS), Deirdre Brennan (Universal Kids), Tiphaine de Raguenel (France Télévisions), Tara Sorensen (Apple), Andrew Thomas (Hulu Kids), Nicole Keeb (ZDF), Layla Lewis (Nickelodeon), Sarah Muller (Sony Pictures Television) and Adina Pitt (Cartoon Network).


Channel of the Year
NRK Super

Best Programming Block
Nat Geo Kids (Nat Geo Kids)
Party with the Ponies (Discovery Family Channel)
The Sandwich Show (NTR/ZAPP)

Best On-Air Host or Hosting Team
Gary the Unicorn, Mr. Orlando—CBC Kids (CBC)
Suki, Meisa, Jesse and Spencer—The Zone (YTV)
The Mouseketeers: Charis, Wafiy, Erissa, Gabriel, Dheena, Faiz and Natasya—Club Mickey Mouse (Disney Channel Asia)


Best Learning App—Branded
Hey Duggee: The Counting Badge (BBC Studios, Scary Beasties, Studio AKA)
Lili & Lola—Numbers Game (Big Bad Boo)
World of Peppa Pig (Secret Location, Entertainment One)

Best Learning App—Original
Kidomi (Fingerprint Digital)
Kindergo (Like A Photon Creative)
MarcoPolo World School (MarcoPolo World School)
Papumba Academy (Papumba)

Best Game App—Branded
Pinkalicious Party (WGBH Educational Foundation)
World of Peppa Pig (Secret Location, Entertainment One)

Best Game App—Original
Budge World (Budge Studios)
Pollywog Pond (Whooplah)
Hopster Coding Safari (Hopster)

Best Streaming Video Platform
Discovery Kids
Noggin (Nickelodeon)
Sesame Street YouTube Channel (Sesame Workshop)

Best Web/App Series—Branded
Canticos (Encantos/Nickelodeon)
Cry Babies Magic Tears (Hampa Studio)
Elmo’s Food Rap Battle (Sesame Workshop)

Best Web/App Series—Original
Daisy & The Gumboot Kids (Imagine Create Media)
Go Dinos! (Discovery Kids Digital, Group Nine Media)
Odd Couples(Discovery Kids Digital, Group Nine Media)

Best Website
pbskids.org (PBS KIDS)
The Ruff Ruffman Show (WGBH)


Best Learning App—Branded
Amazon FreeTime (Amazon)
Annedroids Compubot Plus (Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Nature Cat’s Great Outdoors (Spiffy Pictures, PBS KIDS, REDspace)

Best Learning App—Original
Amazing Dream Job Adventure (Riverbank Pictures, Relish Interactive)
Mindful Powers (Smashing Ideas)
News-O-Matic (News-O-Matic, Press4Kids)

Best Game App—Branded
Barbie Dreamhouse Adventures (Budge Studios, Mattel)
Hotel Transylvania: Hotel Havoc (Biba, Sony Pictures Animations, Nelvana)
No Way That’s True (Nickelodeon—Digital Product & Games)
School of Rock: Together We Rock (Nickelodeon International Games)
The SpongeBob Challenge (Nickelodeon—Digital Product & Games)

Best Game App—Original
Animal Jam: Play Wild! (WildWorks)
My Town: Home (My Town)
Toca Mystery House (Toca Boca)

Best Streaming Video Platform
YouTube Kids

Best Web/App Series—Branded
Barbie Vlogger (Mattel Creations)
That’s the Spirit (Driver Digital Studios, DreamWorks)
The NERF Nation Show(Hasbro, King Studio)

Best Web/App Series—Original
Dixi Friends4Ever (Kindle Entertainment)
Does it Fart?(Yellow Bear Studios)
Kuroba!(Sutikki, Bento Box Entertainment)
Les Vlogues de Newton (Carte Blanche Films, Groupe Média TFO)
Safari Live(Nat Geo Kids)

Best Website
CBC Kids Olympics (CBC Kids)
Cyberchase (THIRTEEN/WNET)
Odd Squad (Sinking Ship Entertainment, Fred Rogers Productions, PBS KIDS)

Shortlisted entries in the Digital categories will be reviewed and assessed by a fresh panel of judges, including Sara DeWitt (PBS KIDS), Christine Elgersma (Common Sense Media), Albie Hecht (pocket.watch), Shai Samet (KidSafe), Robin Raskin (Living in Digital Times), Chris Lindgren (Toca Boca), Dylan Collins (SuperAwesome), David Kleeman (Dubit), Matthew Evans (Nickelodeon) and Miles Ludwig (Sesame Workshop).

Additional details about the Kidscreen Awards—including categories, eligibility, judging and entry process—can be found online.

Hosted by comedian Darrin Rose and exclusively sponsored by the Canada Media Fund, the 2018 Kidscreen Awards celebrated Amazon Studios, Sesame Workshop and DreamWorks among last year’s top winners.

About The Author



Brand Menu