Nickelodeon, Sinking Ship lead Kidscreen Awards 2018 noms

The nominees have been announced for the 2018 edition of the Kidscreen Awards, celebrating the best in children’s TV production, broadcasting and digital media.
December 12, 2017

Leading the pack of 2018′s Kidscreen Awards nominees are Sinking Ship Entertainment and Nickelodeon with six and five nods, respectively. The annual competition honors the best work in children’s television and digital media, and this year’s finalists in the Programming, Broadcasting and Digital categories will now continue on in the competition through a final round of judging.

The class of 2018 KSA winners will be announced at a special presentation event and after-party being held during Kidscreen Summit in Miami, on the evening of Tuesday, February 13. Without further ado, here is the full list of nominees:


Best New Series
Dino Dana (Sinking Ship Entertainment)
P. King Duckling (UYoung Animation Culture & Media Co./Little Airplane Productions)
Splash and Bubbles (The Jim Henson Company/Herschend Studios)

Best Animated Series
DocMcStuffins: Toy Hospital (Disney Junior/Brown Bag Films)
Olobob Top (Beakus)
Sarah & Duck (Karrot Entertainment)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Bookaboo (Happy Films/Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Dino Dana (Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
Bookaboo’s Barkin’ New Year (Happy Films/Sinking Ship Entertainment)
The Snowy Day (Amazon Studios/Karrot Entertainment)
Peppa Pig: The Outback, Surfing,The Great Barrier Reef, The Boomerang (Astley Baker Davies/Entertainment One)


Best New Series
Insectibles (One Animation)
Skylanders Academy (Activision Blizzard Studios, in association with TeamTO)
Trollhunters (DreamWorks Animation Television)

Best Animated Series
Grizzy and the Lemmings (HARI)
Hotel Transylvania: The Series (Nelvana/Sony Pictures)
Oddbods (One Animation)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Horrible Histories (Lion Television)
Odd Squad (The Fred Rogers Company/Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Snowfall (NRK Super)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
An American Girl Story—Melody 1963: Love Has to Win (Amazon Studios)
Kids’ Choice Awards 2017 (Nickelodeon Live Event Television, ROK Productions, Dempsey Productions, GHS Productions)
Revolting Rhymes (Magic Light Pictures)


Best New Series
Free Rein (Lime Pictures)
Jenny (Productions Avenida)
Juacas (Disney Channel Latin America)

Best Animated Series
Bob’s Burgers (20th Century Fox Television/ Bento Box Entertainment)
Dragons: Race to the Edge (DreamWorks Animation Television/Netflix)
Voltron Legendary Defender (DreamWorks Animation Television)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Degrassi: Next Class Season 4(DHX Media)
Nowhere Boys: Two Moons Rising (Matchbox Pictures)
The Next Step (Radical Sheep Productions)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
HALO Awards 2016 (Nickelodeon Live Event Television, ROK Productions, N-credible)
Kiss and Cry (Family Channel/ 9 Story Media Group/ Telefilm Canada/OMDC)
Nickelodeon’s Ultimate Halloween Haunted House 2016 (Nickelodeon Live Event Television, Stun Creative, Alternative Plan)

Shortlisted entries in the Programming categories will be reviewed and assessed by a fresh panel of judges, including Dominique Bazay (Netflix), Julien Borde (France Télévisions), Michael Carrington (ABC Australia), Nina Hahn (Nickelodeon International), Sarah Muller (Channel Five), Lucy Murphy (Sky), Adina Pitt (Cartoon Network), Linda Simensky (PBS KIDS), Cheryl Taylor (BBC Children’s) and Katie Wilson (Corus Kids).



Channel of the Year
PBS KIDS 24/7 Channel & Live Stream

Best Channel Design
CBC Kids

Best Programming Block
National Geographic Kids Block (National Geographic Kids)
Sprout House (Universal Kids/ Sprout)
TVOKids (TVOKids)

Best Channel Website
CBC Kids

Best On-Air Host or Hosting Team
Tony Kim, Janaye Upshaw, Victor Verbitsky, Jason Hopley, Kira Hall, Todd Doldersum, Frank Meschkuleit—CBC Kids (CBC Kids)
Lydia Gieselmann— NRK Newton (NRK)
Carlos, Lisa, Suki, Jesse and Meisha —The Zone (YTV)




Best Learning App—Original
Animal World—Animal Sounds For Babies & Toddlers (Papumba)
Hopster (Hopster)
This is Betsy—a contrary girl (Editora Caixote + Webcore)

Best Learning App—Branded
Elmo Loves ABCs (Sesame Workshop/Aspire Games)
LeapFrog Academy (LeapFrog)
StoryBots —Learning Videos & Books Starring You! (JibJab Bros. Studios)

Best Game App—Original
CBeebies Playtime Island (BBC Children’s/Media Applications Technologies for the BBC)
Dr. Panda Plus: Home Designer (Dr. Panda)
Sago Mini World (Sago Mini)

Best Game App—Branded
Disney Color and Play (Disney Consumer Products and Interactive Media/Nanu Interactive)
Hey Duggee: We Love Animals (BBC Worldwide/ Scary Beasties/ Studio AKA)
Thomas & Friends: Magical Tracks (Mattel/Budge Studios)

Best Streaming Video Platform
Hopster (Hopster)
Noggin (Nickelodeon)
PlayKids (PlayKids)

Best Web/App Series—Original
Amigo to the Rescue (Disney Consumer Products and Interactive Media/Reel FX)
Melia and Jo (100 Chickens Productions/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Through the Woods (The Fred Rogers Company /Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Web/App Series—Branded
Aliens Love Underpants And (Tiger Aspect Productions)
Love 2 Learn (Sesame Workshop/YouTube)
Thomas’ Aussie Football Adventure, Thomas & Friends (Mattel Creations)

Best Website
Nick Jr. (Nickelodeon)
Ollie’s Edible Adventures (Radical Sheep / Boat Rocker / Tobo) (Sesame Workshop)


Best Learning App—Branded
Amazon FreeTime (Amazon FreeTime/Amazon)
Dotopedia (Industrial Brothers/ The Jim Henson Company/ CBC/The Bell Fund/REDspace)
Outdoor Family Fun with Plum (WGBH Educational Foundation)

Best Game App—Original
Animal Jam Play Wild! (WildWorks)
EverRun (Budge Studios)
Toca Life: Hospital (Toca Boca)

Best Game App—Branded
Compubot Plus App (Sinking Ship Entertainment)
My Little Pony Rainbow Runners (Hasbro/Budge Studios)
Slugterra: Slug it Out 2 (DHX Interactive/DHX Media)

Best Streaming Video Platform
Azoomee (Azoomee)
LeapFrog Epic Academy Edition (LeapFrog)
LeapPad  Ultimate (LeapFrog)

Best Web/App Series—Original
Storybooth (Created Entertainment)
The Paper Girls (FableVision Studios and Global Tinker)
Young Girls (NRK)

Best Web/App Series—Branded
As Told by Lego: Rogue One (Disney Consumer Products Interactive/Disney Digital Network)
Odd Tube (The Fred Rogers Company)
Project Mc² | Behind the Technology with Intel (MGA Entertainment)

Best Website
Animal Jam (WildWorks)
iCoolKid (iCoolKid)
National Geographic Kids (National Geographic Kids)

Shortlisted entries in the Digital categories will be reviewed and assessed by a fresh panel of judges, including Daniel Bays (Lightning Sprite Media), Gregory Dray (YouTube), Chris Heatherly (NBCUniversal), Azadeh Jamalian (Tiggly),  Jason Krogh (Sago Mini), Gary Pope (Kids Industries), Beau Teague (Cartoon Network) and Dylan Yamada-Rice (Dubit).

Additional details about the Kidscreen Awards–including categories, eligibility, judging and entry process–can be found at

The 2017 Kidscreen Awards event was hosted by comedian Darrin Rose and exclusively sponsored by the Canada Media Fund.

About The Author



Brand Menu