TrueTube, CBeebies score multiple BAFTAs

Online education platform TrueTube scored the most wins -- and the coveted Channel of the Year title -- at the 2017 British Academy (BAFTA) Children’s Awards ceremony held last night in London.
November 27, 2017

After leading the pack with seven nominations, TrueTube won four trophies at the 2017 BAFTA Children’s Awards, including Channel of the Yearmarking the first time the category has gone to an online-only channel. In fact, TrueTube’s nomination in the Channel of the Year category last year was the first time a web platform had ever been recognized. (CBeebies won the coveted Channel of the Year award in 2016.)

In addition to Channel of the Year, TrueTube also took the top prize in the Drama (Like Me, pictured), Performer (Alhaji Fofana in Screwball!) and Writer (Adam Tyler for Screwball!) categories. Launched in 2007, TrueTube’s curriculum-based website provides videos, lesson plans and assembly scripts for UK students. It was originally designed to encourage young people to make films dealing with the issues they cared about.

In other BAFTA categories, CBeebies had wins in Preschool Animation for Hey Duggee, Preschool Live Action for Our Family and in the Presenter category for Do You Know? host Maddie Moate.  

CBBC and CiTV each took home two awards, with CBBC Productions/CBBC dominating the Comedy category for Class Dismissed and the Factual category for Inside My Head: A Newsround Special. CiTV’s Bear Grylls’ Survival School and Share a Story, meanwhile, earned the top prize for Entertainment and Short Form, respectively.

In Interactive, Hey Duggee: We Love Animals (from Scary Beasties and BBC Worldwide) earned the top spot, while SpongeBob SquarePants (from Nickelodeon/Nicktoons) won the top nod in the International category. Revolting Rhymes (from Magic Light Pictures/BBC One) won for the Animation category.

ON Animation Studios and Netflix’s movie The Little Prince was awarded the win for Feature Film, while Niantic’s runaway success Pokémon GO took the top spot in the Game category. Blue Zoo Animation Studio earned the Independent Production Company of the Year prize, while History Bombs from History Bombs/ was named the winner in the Learning category.

Last night’s ceremony was hosted by comedian and actor Doc Brown, and presenters included Peter Andre, Matt Baker, Angellica Bell, Hugh Dennis, Rochelle Humes, Pixie Lott, Jordan Banjo and Perri Kiely. A full list of this year’s winners is available here.

About The Author



Brand Menu