YMA gala announces hosts

The Youth Media Alliance gala will be hosted by Tony Kim (pictured), Janaye Upshaw and Victor Verbitsky from CBC Kids' new morning show Studio K.
April 21, 2017

Tony Kim, Janaye Upshaw and Victor Verbitsky, from the new CBC Kids morning show Studio K, will be hosting the Youth Media Alliance Awards of Excellence gala this year. English nominees for the Toronto-based event were announced last month.

Carly Watt and Aidan Cosgrave are¬†running the event from behind the scenes as writer and director, respectively. Watt is a Canadian Screen Award-nominated children’s media producer who is currently writing and directing Studio K. Cosgrave has directed the YMA gala for several years.

The new hosts mark the first time the awards have ever been hosted by a trio. The ceremony takes place on May 31 at the CBC Glenn-Gould Studio in Toronto.

About The Author
Alexandra Whyte is Kidscreen's News & Social Media Editor. Contact her at


Brand Menu