And the Irish Animation Award winners are…

JAM Media and Cartoon Saloon nabbed multiple prizes at the second biennial Irish Animation Awards held over the weekend in Dingle, Ireland.
March 28, 2017

Irish animation studio JAM Media was a four-time winner at the second biennial Irish Animation Awards, which took place over the weekend during Animation Dingle in Ireland.

JAM’s hit series Roy (pictured) won both the Kids’ Choice Best Animated Series and the Best Writer for an Animated Series prizes.

The studio’s spin-off preschool series Little Roy, meanwhile, earned the Best Director of an Animated Series trophy for Alan Shannon, while JAM’s fourth award went to Little Roy’s Wonder Doodler app in the Best Animation for Apps and Gaming category.

In other categories, Lily’s Driftwood Bay from Sixteen South snapped up the award for Best Animated Preschool Series; Chris Nee and Kent Redeker jointly took home the Best Writer for Preschool Animation prize for their work on Brown Bag Films’ Doc McStuffins: Welcome to McStuffinsville (Disney Junior); and Boulder and Giant Animation’s Go Jetters (BBC Worldwide) won for Best VFX in an Animated Series or Film.

Other winners included Cartoon Saloon’s Puffin Rock, Wiggleywoo’s The Day Henry Met… and Boulder Media’s Danger Mouse (produced for FremantleMedia Kids & Family).

Sponsored by RTÉ Jr, The Irish Film Board and Philip Lee, the Irish Animation Awards recognize the top creative talent within the country’s animation, VFX and gaming industries.

Here is the full list of 2017 winners:

Best Animated Preschool Series (up to six years)
Lily’s Driftwood Bay (Sixteen South)

Best Animated Short Film
Second to None (Vincent Gallagher)

Best Writer for a Preschool Animated Series
Doc McStuffins: Welcome to McStuffinsville (Chris Nee and Kent Redeker)

Best Writer for an Animated Series
Roy (JAM Media’s Mark Hodkinson)

Best Animation for Apps and Gaming
Little Roy’s Wonder Doodler app (JAM Media)

Best VFX as part of an Animated TV Series or Film
Go Jetters (Boulder Media, Giant Animation)

Best Design/Art Direction
Puffin Rock (Cartoon Saloon’s Lily Bernard, Stefano Scapolan)

Best Director of an Animated TV Series
Little Roy (JAM Media’s Alan Shannon)

Best Animation
The Day Henry Met a Camera (Wiggleywoo)

Best Music/Sound Design
Danger Mouse (Boulder Media)

Best Student Film
Devine Intervention

Kid’s Choice Award for Best Animated Series
Roy (JAM Media)

Best Irish Feature Film or Special
Song of the Sea (Cartoon Saloon, Tomm Moore)

The Murakami Award
Aidan Hickey

About The Author
Jeremy is the Features Editor of Kidscreen specializing in the content production, broadcasting and distribution aspects of the global children's entertainment industry. Contact Jeremy at



Brand Menu