Nickleodeon, Sprout lead Kidscreen Awards finalists

Celebrating the best in children's TV production, broadcasting and digital media, 2017's edition of the Kidscreen Awards has announced this year's crop of nominees.
December 5, 2016

The shortlisted entries have been revealed for 2017′s Kidscreen Awards, the annual competition honors the best work in children’s television and digital media. This year’s nominees in the Programming, Broadcasting and Digital categories—led by Nickelodeon and Sprout, with 10 and 8 nominations, respectively—will continue in the competition through a final round of judging. Winners will be announced at a special presentation event during Kidscreen Summit 2017 in Miami, on the evening of Tuesday, February 14.

The nominees in the Programming categories are:


Best New Series
Dot. (Industrial Brothers/The Jim Henson Company/CBC/Sprout)
Jamillah and Aladdin (Kindle Entertainment/Mediabiz International/Toonz Entertainment)
Nina’s World (Sprout)

Best Animated Series
Clangers (Coolabi Productions/Factory/CBBC)
Doc McStuffins (Disney Junior/Brown Bag Films)
Sarah and Duck (Karrot Entertainment/CBeebies/BBC Worldwide)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
The Adventures of Napkin Man (Breakthrough Entertainment in association with Little Airplane and CBC Kids)
Floogals (Jellyfish/Nevision/Zodiak Kids Studios/Sprout)
Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
Katie Morag (Move On Up/CBeebies/BBC Scotland)
Peg + Cat (The Fred Rogers Company/9 Story Media Group)
Peppa Pig Pumpkin Party (Astley Baker Davies/Entertainment One)


Best New Series
Bottersnikes & Gumbles (Cheeky Little Media/Mighty Nice/CAKE Entertainment)
The Deep (DHX Media/A Stark Production)
Home: Adventures With Tip & Oh (DreamWorks Animation Television/Netflix)

Best Animated Series
Miles From Tomorrowland (Disney Junior/Wild Canary Animation)
Scream Street (Coolabi Productions/Factory/CBBC)
We Bare Bears (Cartoon Network Studios)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Horrible Histories (Lion Television)
Matilda and the Ramsay Bunch (One Potato Two Potato)
Odd Squad (The Fred Rogers Company/Sinking Ship Entertainment)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie         
Bruno & Boots: Go Jump In The Pool (Aircraft Pictures)
Shaun the Sheep: The Farmer’s Llamas (Aardman Animations)
Stick Man (Magic Light Pictures)


Best New Series
Bear Grylls Survival School (Potato/BGV)
Lost and Found Music Studios (Radical Sheep Productions/Boat Rocker Studios)
Raising Expectations (Aircraft Pictures in association with Dolphin Entertainment)

Best Animated Series
Bob’s Burgers (Bento Box Entertainment/20th Century FOX Television)
Dragons: Race to the Edge (DreamWorks Animation Television /Netflix)
Voltron Legendary Defender (DreamWorks Animation Television/Netflix)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Degrassi: Next Class (DHX Media/Netflix)
Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street (Amazon Studios/Pictures in a Row)
The Next Step (Radical Sheep Productions/Boat Rocker Studios)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
The Curse of Clara: A Holiday Tale (Smiley Guy Studios)
L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables (Breakthrough Entertainment)
Nowhere Boys: The Book of Shadows (Matchbox Pictures)

These shortlisted entries will be reviewed and assessed by a fresh panel of judges, including Andy Yeatman (Netflix), Sarah Muller (Channel 5), Amy Friedman (Sprout), Lucy Murphy (Sky), Grainne Rowe (Disney Channels EMEA), Jackie Edwards (BBC Children’s), Andrew Thomas (Hulu), Nina Hahn (Nickelodeon International) and Deirdre Brennan (Corus Kids).


The nominees in the Broadcasting categories are:

Channel of the Year

Best Channel Design

Best Programming Block
CBS Dream Team, It’s Epic! (Litton Entertainment)
Sunny Side Up (Sprout)
WILD Kids (National Geographic)

Best Channel Website
Nick Jr.

Best On-Air Host or Hosting Team
Jonas Lihaug Fredriksen, Henrik Hildre—FlippKlipp Studio (NRK Super)
Charlie Engelman, Kirby Engelman, Patrick Rahill—Nature Boom Time (National Geographic)
Carly Ciarrocchi, Tim Kubart, Kaitlin Becker, Emily Borromeo—Sunny Side Up (Sprout)


The nominees in the Digital categories are:


Best Learning App—Tablet
Hopster (Hopster)
Nick Jr. App (Nickelodeon Digital)
Pocoyo Playset: Let’s Move (Early Learning Collaborative/ HITN/Zinkia Entertainment)

Best Learning App—Smartphone
Curious World (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
HooplaKidz Nursery Rhyme Activities (YoBoHo)
Ready Jet Go! Space Explorer App (Wind Dancer Films/Two Moos)

Best Game App—Tablet
CBeebies Playtime Island (BBC)
Curious George Train Adventures (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Game App—Smartphone
Curious George Train Adventures (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Curious World (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Streaming Video Platform
BBC iPlayer Kids (BBC)
Hopster (Hopster)
NOGGIN (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Web/App Series
Disney Whisker Haven Tales with the Palace Pets (Disney Publishing Worldwide)
Elmo at the Zoo (Sesame Workshop)
Sesame Street Happy Birthday Songs(Sesame Workshop)

Best Website
Dinosaur Train (The Jim Henson Company/Sparky Entertainment) (Nickelodeon Digital)
Ready Jet Go! (Wind Dancer Films/Two Moos)

Best eBook

Colored Dots (Uyoung Interactive Technology Co.)
PAW Patrol—Meet Tracker! (Nickelodeon)
PAW Patrol—Pirate Pups (Nickelodeon)



Best Learning App—Tablet
La Francomobile (TV5 Québec Canada/Manito Média/Tobo)
Little Lunch (Australian Children’s Television Foundation)
Nancy Drew: Codes & Clues (HeR Interactive/Brandissimo!/Picture Fish Studios)

Best Learning App—Smartphone
Monkey Spot Scavenger Hunts (Monkey Bar Collective)
Nature Cat’s Great Outdoors (Spiffy/PBS/REDspace)
Nickelodeon: Code a Character (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Game App—Tablet
Animal Jam—Play Wild! (WildWorks)
Flipped Out—The Powerpuff Girls (Cartoon Network Games/Grumpyface Studios)
Toca Blocks (Toca Boca)

Best Game App—Smartphone
Cut the Rope: Magic (Zeptolab)
Teeny Titans—Teen Titans Go! (Cartoon Network Games/Grumpyface Studios)
Total Drama Presents: ‘Donculous Dash (Secret Location/Cartoon Network Canada/Fresh TV/Bell Fund/Teletoon)

Best Streaming Video Platform
Flipp Klipp Studio (NRK Super) (Nickelodeon Digital)
Toca TV (Toca Boca)

Best Web/App Series
Don’t Mix Us Up (Toca Boca/FableVision)
Secret Life of Boys(Zodiak Kids Studios for CBBC and ABC Australia)
Tsum Tsum Kingdom (Disney Consumer Products and Interactive Media)

Best Website
Animal Jam (WildWorks)
National Geographic Kids (National Geographic Partners)  (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Tablet
LeapFrog Epic (LeapFrog)
La Tablette Motion 2 by Gulli (KD Interactive/Taldec/Gulli)

Best eBook
Little Lunch: A Teachers’ Guide (Australian Children’s Television Foundation)
The Restricted Adventures of Raja (RedRover/Sticky Brain Studios)
Stand Together! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (Nickelodeon)

These shortlisted entries will now be reviewed by panels of professional judges, including Angela Lin (YouTube), Azadeh Jamalian (Tiggly), Bill Shribman (WGBH), Jens Peter de Pedro (Monkimun), David Kleeman (Dubit), Eric Huang (Made in Me), Daniel Bays (Lightning Sprite Media) and Brenda Bisner (Baby Toes Media).

Last year’s Kidsceeen Awards was hosted by renowned comedian Allana Harkin and exclusively sponsored by the Canada Media Fund. Kidscreen Summit delegates are invited to attend the upcoming Kidscreen Awards as part of their event registration, and tickets for just the ceremony can be purchased for US$150 by contacting Kidscreen events sales manager Joel Pinto (416-408-2300 x650 or

Additional details about the Kidscreen Awards, including categories, eligibility, judging and entry process, can be found at

About The Author



Brand Menu