Daytime Emmy Award nominees announced

With 10 nods each, Annedroids (pictured) and Sesame Street are among the most-nominated kids series for the 2016 Daytime Emmy Awards.
March 28, 2016

It looks like 2016 may be a record-breaking year for Toronto-based Sinking Ship Entertainment, whose series Annedroids (Amazon Instant Video, KiKA), Odd Squad (PBS, co-produced with The Fred Rogers Company) and Dino Dan (Nickelodeon), have scored a combined 20 Daytime Emmy Nominations. The awards ceremony takes place in L.A. on May 1. The Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held on April 29.

Annedroids scored 10 nominations, while Odd Squad racked up nine. Both will be going head-to-head in the Outstanding Children’s Series category and are also  in competition with non-kids shows in Creative Arts categories like Best Costume Design (Odd Squad) and Outstanding Cinematography (Annedroids). Other series pulling in multiple nominations include Sesame Workshop’s Sesame Street (10), Dreamworks Animation/Netflix’s All Hail King Julien (7) and Dragons: Race to the Edge (6), Jennifer Oxley’s Peg + Cat (5) from PBS, The Fred Rogers Company and 9 Story Media Group, and Nickelodeon’s Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (5).

In terms of networks, PBS pulled in the most kids nominations with 32, and thanks to its recent surge in originals commissioning, Netflix was a close second with 28, while Nickelodeon scored 24. Amazon Instant Video, meanwhile, tallied 15 kids-related nods and Disney Junior brought in six.

As for key kids categories the nominees are as follows:

Outstanding Preschool Children’s Series
Dino Dan: Trek’s Adventures (Nickelodeon, Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Mutt & Stuff (Nickelodeon, Marty Krofft, Sid Krofft)
Sesame Street (PBS, Sesame Workshop)
Sunny Side Up (Sprout)
Yo Gabba Gabba! (Nickelodeon, DHX Media)

Outstanding Children’s Series
Annedroids (Amazon Instant Video, Sinking Ship Entertainment)
Project Mc² (Netflix, MGA Entertainment)
Sea Rescue (Syndicated, Executive Producers Bryan Curb, David Doyle, Scott Helmstedter, Dave Morgan, Eric S. Rollman)
The Wildlife Docs (Syndicated, Executive Producers Jeff Androsky, Scott Helmstedter, Dave Morgan, Eric S. Rollman, Carol Sherman)

Outstanding Preschool Children’s Animated Program
Dinosaur Train (PBS, The Jim Henson Company)
Henry Hugglemonster (Disney Junior, Brown Bag Films)
Peg+Cat (PBS, The Fred Rogers Company, 9 Story Media Group)
Tumble Leaf (Amazon Instant Video, Bix Pix)
Wallykazam! (Nickelodeon)

Outstanding Children’s Animated Program
All Hail King Julien (Netflix, DreamWorks Animation Television)
Dragons: Race to the Edge (Netflix, DreamWorks Animation Television)
Niko and the Sword of Light (Amazon Instant Video)
The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show (Netflix, DreamWorks Animation Television)
Word Girl (PBS, Scholastic Media)

Outstanding Special Class Animated Program
Miles From Tomorrowland (Disney Junior)
Peter Rabbit (Nickelodeon, Brown Bag Films)
Transformers Robotsin Disguise (Cartoon Network, Hasbro Studios)

Outstanding Performer in a Children’s or Preschool Children’s Series
Jadiel Dowlin as Nick, Annedroids (Amazon Instant Video)
Addison Holley, as Anne, Annedroids (Amazon Instant Video)
Sean Michael Kyer, as Oscar, Odd Squad (PBS)
Jessica Lundy, as Amanda Wainwright, The Inspectors (CBS)
Terry Serpico, as Mitch Ohlmeyer, The Inspectors (CBS)

Outstanding Performer in an Animate Program
Danny Jacobs, as King Julien, All Hail King Julien (Netflix)
Carlos Alazracqui, as Mr. Crocker, The Fairly OddParents (Nickelodeon)
Eric Bauz, as Puss In Boots, The Adventures of Puss in Boots (Netflix)
Jeff Bennett, as Mayor Luskey, Transformers Rescue Bots (Discovery Family)
Reid Scott, as Turbo, Turbo FAST (Netflix)

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation - WINNERS
Dinotrux (Netflix, Character Designer: Chad Weatherford)
Peter Rabbit (Nickelodeon, Storyboard Artist: Benjamin Sanders)
The Mind of a Chef (PBS, Production Designer: Mike Houston)
Tumble Leaf (Amazon Instant Video, Supervising Animator: Michael Granberry)

Outstanding Writing in a Preschool Animated Program
Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood (PBS, Head Writer: Becky Friedman; Writers: Jill Cozza Turner, Leah Gotcsik, Jennifer Hamburg; Writer/Story Editor: Angela C. Santomero)

Disney Doc McStuffins (Disney Junior, Writer/Story Editor: Chris Nee; Writer/Co-Story Editor: Kent Redeker; Writers: Chelsea Beyl, Kerri Grant)

Peg+Cat (PBS, Head Writer: Billy Lopez; Writers: Billy Aronson, David Steven Cohen, Kevin Del Aguila, Dustin Ferrer, Qui Nguyen, Jennifer Oxley)

Sheriff Callie’s Wild West (Disney Junior, Writer: Andy Guerdat, Steve Sullivan; Writer/Story Editors: Holly Huckins, Krista Tucker)

Wallykazam! (Nickelodeon, Head Writer: Adam Peltzman; Writer: Jim Nola; Story Editor: Scott Gray)

Outstanding Writing in an Animated Program
All Hail King Julien (Netflix, Writer/Producer: Mitch Watson)

Dragons: Race to the Edge (Netflix, Writer/Producers: Art Brown, Douglas Sloan)

Nature Cat (PBS, Story Editors: Adam Rudman, David Rudman)

Transformers Rescue Bots (Discovery Family, Writers: Nicole Dubuc, Brian Hohlfeld, Greg Johnson; Story Editors: Cydne Clark, Steve Granat, Andrew R. Robinson)

Wild Kratts (PBS, Writers: Chris Kratt, Martin Kratt)

Outstanding Writing in a Children’s or Preschool Children’s Series
Annedroids (Amazon Instant Video, Writers: J.J. Johnson, Christin Simms)

Odd Squad (PBS, Head Writer: Tim McKeon; Writer: Charles Johnston; Story Editor: Mark De Angelis)

Sea Rescue (Syndicated, Head Writer: Aidan Pickering)

Sesame Street (PBS, Head Writer: Joey Mazzarino; Writers: Molly Boylan, Annie Evans, Christine Ferraro, Michael J. Goldberg, Emily Perl Kingsley, Luis Santeiro, Ed Valentine, Belinda Ward, John Weidman)

The Inspectors (CBS, Writer: Gail Horne)

Outstanding Directing in an Animated Program
All Hail King Julien (Netflix, Directors: Stephen Heneveld, Christo Stamboliev, James Wootton; Voice Director: Collette Sunderman)

Peg+Cat (PBS, Director: Cory Bobiak; Animation Directors: Brett Hall, Robert Powers; Storyboard Director: Christopher Jammal; Voice Director: Susan Hart)

Peter Rabbit (Nickelodeon, Director: David McCamley; Animation Director: Maurizio Parimbelli; Episodic Director: Dino Athanassiou)

The Mr. Peabody & Sherman Show (Netflix, Directors: Mike Bell, Greg Miller, John Sanford)

Tumble Leaf (Amazon Instant Video, Director: Drew Hodges)

Outstanding Directing in a Children’s or Preschool Children’s Series
Annedroids (Amazon Instant Video, Directors: J.J. Johnson, Steve Scaini)

Mutt & Stuff (Nickelodeon, Directors: Jason deVilliers, Christian Jacobs, Hugh Martin)

Odd Squad (PBS, Directors: J.J. Johnson, Stephen Reynolds, Brian K. Roberts, Stefan Scaini, Craig David Wallace)

Sesame Street (PBS, Directors: Ken Diego, Joey Mazzarino, Scott Preston, Lisa Simon, Matt Vogel, Nadine Zylstra)

Yo Gabba Gabba! (Nickelodeon, Director: Scott Schultz)

Outstanding Original Song
“Fairy Tale Wedding,” Peg+Cat (PBS)
“Little Froggie,” Bubble Guppies (Nickelodeon)
“The Magic Inside,” My Little Pony Friendship is Magic (Discovery Family)
“True Bromance,” All Hail King Julien (Netflix)
“We’re Gonna Space Die,” Turbo FAST (Netflix)

The entire list of Daytime Emmy Award nominees can be found here.

About The Author


Brand Menu