PrankStar Group
Screen

Nickelodeon launches influencer-driven prank campaign

An international social squad comprised of 15 popular digital influencers will participate in the kidsnet's first-ever prank war for the Kids’ Choice Awards.
March 9, 2018

Tapping into the power of experiential events, Nickelodeon has recruited 15 popular digital influencers from 11 countries to form the 2018 KCA PrankStars, an international social squad that will participate in a first-ever prank war for the Kids’ Choice Awards.

In the lead-up to the KCAs on March 24, the PrankStars will kick off a two-day prank battle in L.A. from March 22 to 23. Fans will be able to vote on social media for their favorite two-person team, and the winning duo will receive the honor of being slimed. Teams and voting hashtags will be announced on March 21.

Representing a combined following of nearly 40 million fans, the digital collective includes twin YouTube sensations Brooklyn and Bailey McKnight, Australian travel vlogger Alex Hayes and German pop artist Mike Singer. The PrankStars will also serve up an exclusive inside look into the KCA’s Slime Soiree pre-party, which celebrates social media stars from around the world.

Here’s a look at the complete PrankStars team:

US: Brooklyn & Bailey (@brooklynandbailey), Alex Stokes (@imalexstokes), Alan Stokes (@imalanstokes), Ben Azelart (@benazelart)
Australia: Alex Hayes (@alexhayess)
Germany: Mike Singer (@mikesinger)
Argentina: Alejo Igoa (@alejoigoa)
Mexico: Mariana Bonilla (@marianaabonilla)
Spain: Alvaro Mel (@meeeeeeeel_)
Brazil: Malena Nunes AKA Loira Noob (@loiranoob)
UK: Saffron Barker (@saffronbarker)
Netherlands: Marije Zuurveld (@marijezuurveld)
Italy: Luciano Spinelli (@spnlnv)
France: Mademoiselle Gloria (@gloria_nbr)

In related news, Nickelodeon recently announced it will launch its first US SlimeFest music festival, an immersive two-day event for kids and families that will begin on June 9 in Chicago, Illinois.

The KCA PrankStars campaign also hits as live-action game shows continue to resonate with kids and families on linear and digital platforms. Nickelodeon’s 2018/2019 upfronts include John Cena’s competition series Keep It Spotless, a second season renewal for Lip Sync Battle Shorties and Musical Dares, a new short-form game show created and executive produced by Nick Cannon that will bow on Nick’s YouTube channel.

About The Author
Jeremy is the Features Editor of Kidscreen specializing in the content production, broadcasting and distribution aspects of the global children's entertainment industry. Contact Jeremy at jdickson@brunico.com.

Menu

Brand Menu