Justice-League
Consumer Products

DC Entertainment unveils new publishing imprint

DC Black Label will feature standalone stories designed to live separately from the DC Universe.
March 9, 2018

DC Entertainment has launched DC Black Label, a new publishing imprint that will expand the media company’s canon of superheroes with standalone stories outside of the current DC Universe.

DC Black Label will craft original stories in the tradition of Batman: The Killing Joke and Watchmen. The imprint will make its publishing debut in August with the arrival of previously announced title Superman: Year One from author Frank Miller (The Dark Knight Returns) and artist John Romita Jr. The story follows Superman’s origins in honor of the superhero’s 80th anniversary.

John Ridley’s The Other History of The DC Universe will also be published under DC Black Label. And Kelly Sue DeConnick (Bitch Planet) and artist Phil Jimenez will join the imprint with Wonder Woman Historia: The Amazons.

Other stories rounding out the first wave of DC Black Label titles include Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo’s Batman: Last Knight on Earth, and Greg Rucka’s Wonder Woman: Diana’s Daughter.

About The Author
Elizabeth Foster is Kidscreen's Copy Chief & Special Reports Editor. Contact Elizabeth at efoster@brunico.com

Menu

Brand Menu