Jury for Shaw Rocket Prize announced

The just-named 2008 international jury for Canada's Shaw Rocket Prize includes the who's who of kids broadcasters.
January 30, 2008

The just-named 2008 international jury for Canada’s Shaw Rocket Prize includes the who’s who of kids broadcasters.

Finn Arnesen, SVP and GM for original series and international broadcasting at Turner Broadcasting, will be joined by Marc Buhaj, SVP of programming for Jetix Europe, Michael Carrington, controller of CBeebies at BBC Children’s, Frank Dietz, head of acquisitions and co-productions and deputy program director at Super RTL, and Adina Pitt, the recently appointed VP of content acquisitions and co-productions at Cartoon Network and Boomerang.

The jury is deliberating on a shortlist of Canadian programs, assessing their contribution to kids TV in terms of their entertainment value and innovation.

The finalists contending for the US$50,000 prize will be announced on February 14 during KidScreen Summit taking place in New York City from February 13 to 15.

The winners of the 2008 Shaw Rocket Price will be announced at a gala event being held on April 30, 2008 in Toronto.

About The Author
Gary Rusak is a freelance writer based in Toronto. He has covered the kids entertainment industry for the last decade with a special interest in licensing, retail and consumer products. You can reach him at


Brand Menu